Post Workout Snacks

What do you eat after a workout?

Do you eat at all?

Do you put 100% into a workout only to go home and reach for the chocolate?

Sound familiar?

Don’t worry we’ve all done it of that I’m sure. In fact I did it this weekend, I was having my PT session that afternoon. My other half asked me if I wanted anything fetching from the shops for lunch. I could have said no, I could have said “oh yes please, I’d love a chicken salad for lunch”

Instead, “Get me a cheese and onion sandwich, LARGE, from the sandwich shop” yep, and if that isn’t bad enough, “Oh and get me some salt and vinegar crisps as well”

What was going through my head? I’ll tell you. I’d just done the weekly shop which consists of fruit, veg, meat, nuts – you catch my drift? So I decided that lunch was going to be my “last supper”

So, I went to the gym and I had my PT session and felt amazing, only to go home and stuff my face with cheese, bread and mayo and feel slightly sick afterwards.

It is hard sometimes, I know, you think after such a good workout you deserve a treat, but you are only doing yourself an injustice. You have worked so hard, don’t let your post workout snacks (or any meal) stop you from achieving your ultimate goal – whatever that might be.

Your post workout snack could possibly be the most important meal of the day. Why?

Muscles store excess energy in the form of glycogen and protein and, when you workout the body burns fuel from your pre-workout meal, then it breaks down glycogen stored in muscles. Within a few hours of working out, muscle protein drops and muscles begin to break down. However, within a 45-minute window, your body is the most responsive with absorbing carbohydrates and protein.

Men’s Fitness

With this in mind we need to think about what we are putting in to our bodies immediately after a workout – think protein and carbs.

I mean good protein and carbs. If I had a £1 for every time I’ve said this to people and I get something back like, “Well a burger is protein and the bun is carbs” mwah haha, yes hilarious, but you know that isn’t what I meant. Did anyone ever tell you, you should’ve been a comedian?

Anyhow I digress, you will see that there is ONE ingredient in every single one of my post-workout snacks. What is it?

My Top 3 Post-Workout Snacks are:

3. Almond Flour Pancakes with Banana and Raw Almonds

60444431e1e1c35b_pancakes

2. Vegetable Sticks (cucumber, carrot, pepper) with Houmous and Cashew Nuts

wpid-20150522_152751.jpg

  1. Plain Greek Yoghurt with Berries and Chopped Nuts

wpid-20150518_101603.jpg

Did you get it right?

That’s right, NUTS!!

Nuts are full of protein, fibre, essential fats and antioxidants. They are no longer seen as the “unhealthy” snack, in fact they are actually one of our better snack options (try and stick to a handful a day and always the raw kind) and can actually help reduce our waistline. They help fill us up for longer so that we are less likely to reach for the unhealthy snacks e.g. a quick piece of chocolate, or a bag of crisps. A shame, I know, but worth it in the long-term.

Nuts.com seem to have got it right and do a wide range of healthy nut-based snacks YUM YUM – in fact read their blog about the Top 5 Nuts to Improve Health and make sure that you start trying to include them in your daily snacks.

Nuts.com are based in the US and are a family run business since the 1920’s – WOW – and they now deliver to the UK – Whoop Whoop. They do healthy snacks for all kinds of situations – snacks for kids, snacks for work, vegans, quick snacks, high protein snacks and something else very close to my heart Gluten Free snacks (my dad has Coeliac Disease – so it is always great to see companies that take gluten free products seriously).

Remember, if you put 100% in to your workouts, don’t go home (or stop off at the shops / fast food place) and snack on the foods that hinder your progress. Grab some nuts, at the very least, to help refuel and reload – but if you have the time try one of my post-workout snacks above or check out Nuts.com.

Bye for now,

Sweaty Mummy

x

Leave a Reply

